Playing with Gifs, Weird Animals, and Work Ethic

My sisters have a kitten. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned that all too much. Apparently, unlike the stereotype placed on cats, he loves water. In fact, he likes it enough to be tempted to jump into the toilet bowl.

Meanwhile, we have dogs that are terrified of water. They’re Labradors, which, if I remember correctly, are supposed to be water dogs (duck hunting dogs, I think). How does that manage to work out? The dogs bred for this shit act like they are traumatized by water while the cat, which is not really bred to be a fan of water, is actively trying to jump into any possible source of water.

Animals are crazy.

My dad is being a dick again, so my sisters and I have decided to cope with it in the best way possible. We are sending each other gifs via instant messaging. That might be the best thing about having siblings; you get to share the suffering and make it into moving images on the internet.

I’m starting to find that a lot of things annoy me about my other job. For instance, the sheer amount of wasted time. They clean up way earlier than they need to and there is a ton of inefficiency, such as throwing aside all the little pieces for a later date. Eventually, all of it piles up and you become less efficient because you were too busy throwing shit aside.

I don’t like to work that way. If I am going to start something, I want to finish all of it. Top to bottom. No half-assing it or saving it for later until I have to do that. It makes no sense to me to just do the big stuff to make it look like you did more. Just do the little things with the big things together. They won’t make you look like you completely slacked one day.

Maybe that’s a huge work ethic shift between myself and my coworkers. I want to use every minute to get as much done as possible, and I don’t want to be cleaning up to waste at least five minutes every day. By the end of the week, you’ve wasted almost a full half hour.

Some people probably go, “Well, you’re still getting paid. Maybe that isn’t so bad.”

That’s not the point, and that isn’t what bothers me. What bothers me is that I feel like I am wasting my time and the company’s time, and I am most definitely not that kind of person. I take pride in doing my best, and cutting time off like that makes me feel like I am not doing my best.

They don’t seem to care, though, and it’s hard to get change going when you are outnumbered by people who don’t want to put in more time and effort to a part-time job.

Even if I don’t care about the job, I still think it’s fair to put in my best effort. I don’t even think that’s just because I’m a perfectionist.

Fuck, maybe deep down, I do value myself, and I value what I do in life. Is that a fucking gateway to self-confidence? Holy shit.

Kels

Leave a Reply

