Career Exploration

Well, second day into my two job life, and I have already come down with a cold. I mean, I am most definitely going in to work today because I need to pay those bills. Plus, the more days I work, the sooner I can pay down my debt, and the sooner I can quit with the idea that I can find something a little more stimulating and enjoyable.

Don’t get me wrong. These things are teaching me a lot about myself. For instance, that I prefer the ability to move around over being stuck at a desk. However, I also value something that is a little more intellectual.

I did think of an advantage to this job. I get to throw things. It’s almost cathartic. Plus, there’s a certain sort of accomplishment when you get to the bottom of a large box and realize you sorted all that stuff into its appropriate categories. So that part is an advantage for me, personally. I like to see results… Of course, don’t we all?

Also, it won’t be mentally taxing so I don’t have to give it my all to be successful. That means I can focus my mental energy on other things, like figuring out what my next career move is going to be. Or if I want to do the multiple part-time jobs rather than one full-time one. It’ll give me time to think and reflect, which is fantastic.

I’ve come up with three financial goals I need to achieve to quit this job:

  1. Reduce my credit card debt by at least 33%.
  2. Bring my emergency savings fund to $1000 (I’m about 40% of the way there).
  3. Pay off my two smallest student loans (together that is about $1600, I believe).

My car is less than a year away from being paid off, so that will ease one burden for a little while. Ideally, that will be my deadline, since I think it puts me at quitting in about March of 2018. Nine months seems reasonable when I’ve doubled my income.

Who knows? Maybe I’ll find another afternoon/evening job that will be a better fit for me in the meantime. It will not hurt for me to continue to explore my options in this world and not continue to tie myself to one option. The world is mean to be explored, and I should be less afraid to fucking get out there and explore it.

Kels

Leave a Reply

