How I Manage to Relate Both Altruism and Overspending in an Entry

I think I overbought food last week, because I still have a ton of food in my refrigerator and tomorrow is technically grocery day. It’s a good problem to have… except for the fact that it means that I am overspending when I clearly shouldn’t be.Β So this coming grocery week, I have made myself a challenge to either empty, or mostly empty, the refrigerator. I think this means that I have to plan out my meals and what I plan on doing with said meals. That honestly might be rough for me, because, as much as I love to be organized, I have a hard time applying that concept to my own life. Hence, I have a refrigerator that still has a lot of food in it.

The good news is that I managed to use up a lot of vegetables. I’ve basically eaten all my carrots, the dip I bought to go with said carrots (which says it’s for men, but I ignore that shit and do what I want), and I’ve already been digging in to my spinach and lettuce kit.

I’ve also been managing to get rid of some of my quinoa, so instead of a full, giant container, I also have half a container. That means I am getting better at not being so wasteful with food, and maybe figuring out exactly how much I eat in a given week, which is not nearly as much as I thought it was, clearly.

Yes, I have a ways to go, but I am learning!

I’m trying to also figure out dinner solutions, since most of us work a good chunk of the day. My sisters both work second shift at their respective jobs. I will be working part-time at two jobs starting around June 26th. So, I am planning recipes out so that we can all manage to have something to eat other than frozen meals all the time.

I think our slow cooker is about to get a ton of love. Hopefully, this won’t be at the expense of my waistline, because I put a lot of work into reducing it these past couple of months. It would be a shame to lose all that progress.

This entry is definitely about food, mostly because I think food is important. That’s probably why I weigh as much as I do. But really, food is fucking important to us not dying. Maybe not as important as staying hydrated and breathing, but still, we cannot live forever without food. Plus, food is fucking delicious, and so many people take for granted how privileged we are to have such easy access to it.

That’s not to shame us or to say that we don’t have issues with food. We do. As a world, we have people who have too much food, and people who don’t have enough. Even within countries like the United States, we have kids that are going hungry because their parents cannot afford food.

And yes, once in a while, I think about things like this, because, depressing as it is, it reminds me that there is a reason I like to give when I can. Not enough of us look out for one another in a world where you’re told to look out for number one. Call it a bit optimistic (i.e. delusional), but I do think that if we took time to look out for one another instead of just ourselves all the time, the world would be a much better place.

Of course, here I am writing about that on a blog that is centered around talking about me and my life. While I’ve discussed how self-care and selfishness are not the same thing, I really haven’t discussed whether self-centered behavior and concern for others can coexist. Honestly, I think they can, and they do in every person.

For instance, some people do good for others because it makes them feel good to help other people. It’s a self-centered reason, but the fact that there is a desire to help exemplifies a concern for others. So I wouldn’t necessarily throw that example strictly into the “self-centered” or the “altruistic” category. Sure, it might be more self-centered in nature, but it still shows care for someone other than the self.

Well, I am going to cut it off here. Until tomorrow,

Kels

4 thoughts on “How I Manage to Relate Both Altruism and Overspending in an Entry

  1. πŸ™ŒπŸ»πŸ™ŒπŸ»πŸ™ŒπŸ» food waste is the worst! I’ve become totally nuts about it. It had made me eat healthier and spend less money on food. Have you seen the documentary Just Eat It?

    Like

    1. I have not heard of that one! Is it worth checking out? I’ve developed a fondness for documentaries now that I’m older and want to keep up my investment in being an educated human being, πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

