Jobs Galore and a Small Pep Talk to the Self

Well, it’s sort of official that I have a second job. I mean, I still have to pee in a cup for a drug test, but since I’m boring, nothing will come up, and they will be happy to know that I am a boring individual who has no need to do drugs.

Seriously, though, I’ve never really understood drugs for my own personal use. I can understand what would lead a person to use, because life can be a bit rough. However, I never saw it as a viable option for me.

Anyway, my mother was pleased that I am going to be working with my brother, because that means my father won’t be driving him. Lately, my dad has taken up an old alcohol habit, and well… it’s not a good habit. That might help explain my relative aversion to drugs. Seeing what it does to people really helps make it less appealing.

I think my brother is pleased, too, because I will take him to get food and stuff like that. Of course, my main goal is to help get a handle on my debt, but I should be able to occasionally enjoy myself.

The crazy thing is that my youngest sister also got hired on for a new job, and now, we are having to juggle three cars with jobs that all have crazy starting and ending times. Her job will go from 2:30 to 10:30 in the evening. My other sister currently works 1:30 to 10:00 in the evening. They share their Jeep. Well, they managed to figure out home, since 10 P.M. sister can merely pick up 10:30 P.M. sister. However, that leaves a weird gap between the 1:30 and 2:30 start times. So, until another car is added to the mix, we have this awkward figuring out of who drives where and when.

It’s not a bad problem, though. All of us being employed, or double employed in my case, means that life should get easier at home.

I’m still trying to hash out the details of how I am going to get things done. My schedule is going to be weird; I know that. The retail schedule will likely not follow a pattern, but I at least know that Monday through Friday, I will work the same four hours at the other job. I mean, I guess that really isn’t a change from my life now. I currently don’t have a regular schedule and I am always having to shift things around based on when I work. Retail is always one fucked up schedule after another, which, on a somewhat optimistic note, keeps life interesting.

I do want to try to keep up with the daily blogging, because I’m actually enjoying this time, even if it is currently cutting in to my sleep with the whole having to start at 4:30 A.M. tomorrow. In a way, I should probably get used to that, because once a week, I am going to have to deal with the fact that I am going to get less sleep, and I never get to sleep as soon as I get home.

Yes, this is going to require some adjustment on my part, but I have to remind myself that this is what I need. If I want to free myself of some of my burden, I should do this. This will be good for me more than it is rough. Being human includes the ability to adapt. I just need to adapt for a little while. I’ve got this.

Kels

Leave a Reply

