Be Like Your Inner Toddler and Start Learning How to Use Your Words

Guys, guys… I think I had an idea last night about this whole “figuring out how to cut spending” thing.

So, I’m really shitty at actually tracking what I spend, sitting down and seeing what goes where and when. However, I do use my computer a lot for things like balancing my checkbook and tracking my debt. I actually do all of this via Excel.

All I did was add a new book to my spreadsheet for my debt log. And in said spreadsheet, I made a column for the date, the location shopped, the amount spent, the type of items I purchased, what payment type I used, if I had rebates through my million rebate apps, and how much those rebates were.

Now, not only can I see where my money is going, but also, I can see what I’m getting back in rebates and coupons to determine if I’m being wise with the applications I’m using. I felt like a genius when this came to me, even though I’m sure plenty of people employ this in their lives already.

It’s the same concept I’m using to motivate my change to a healthier lifestyle. If I can see the actual numbers, then I know how to change them.

I think I was scared of doing this, because I knew that once I did, I would realize that it was a “won’t” thing, not a “can’t” thing. Sure, I can make adjustments to my spending, but I won’t invest the time to make it happen.

I’ve turned this into a choice by making it a “won’t” instead of a “can’t.” The minute things become choices, you have the upper hand. A choice is well within your control, and you can figure out how to make it work for you.

Looking at “can” and “will” also interested me, because those are the opposites of my current self-analysis angle. When I say, “I can,” I feel like there’s still that option of doubt. If I say, “I will,” it places commitment upon the item. You remove the option of failure, and make it an obligation.

The psychology of language is super fascinating when you actually sit down and think about it. You can demand as little or as much as you want based on the words you choose. I think most of us don’t even think about how much weight our words carry. Sure, we might the minute we say something hurtful or something kind… but we can actually shape our minds with the words we use.

I know I am definitely not the first person to discuss this, so I am going to add some supplemental reading if you are interested in how words shape your mindset:

Go here. Or here. And here.

Here, we tend to learn that we need to be careful with the words we choose when we are children. Heck, I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard the phrase, “Use your words” while working in the Children’s section at work (especially when the kid is in full-on emotional meltdown and body slamming him or herself against the tile floor). I’ve always wondered if that was a universal lesson. Quite a few of us live under the golden rule, and treat people how we want to be treated. Sometimes, though, are we really as kind to ourselves as we are to others?

Personally, this is definitely not true. I am a lot kinder to others than I am to myself. Until recently, I was rather cruel to myself, and it is something I plan to fix. It is something I will fix.

Ha! See what I did there? I obligated myself to not be an asshole to myself. I think we call that “learning.”

What do you plan on learning about yourself today?

Kels

One thought on “Be Like Your Inner Toddler and Start Learning How to Use Your Words

  1. Yes. We are all dreaming of spring and summertime …. sooner the better. I am freezing constantly. Even when sitting in sunshine it’s c-o-l-d. With 2 pairs of (flannels!) pants, 3 tees, my loyal quilted jacket, numerous pairs of socks, including woolies with our UGGS, still chilly. We all layer our fancy sweats of course! Haa. What else to do but eat hot soups, drink tea and take lovely warm showers. The week ahead is supposed to be brutally cold. Gotta put up with it for a little while longer. sigh

    Like

Leave a Reply

