Caffeinated Afternoon with a Little Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers

Do you have a song that sort of instantly makes you feel like you have shit figured out? I don’t know why but Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers’ “Free Fallin'” is that song for me. When you actually look at the lyrics, it’s about how all these “bad boys” go around breaking the hearts of the good girls and then basically ditching them.

But it’s like the narrator is another option. He’s free falling. I think I heard the lyric “gonna leave this world for a while” alludes to suicide (of course, I couldn’t really find anything that says that so that I could be like “here, proof!”), but to me, it’s reflective. It is looking at the world you’re supposed to be in and going, “I want to see what else is out there.”

Sometimes, I think you need to spin out of control to find your bearings and go, “Ok, here we are.”

I think that’s how I felt, like I was in this constant state of doing the right thing. I was doing what I was supposed to, doing what was approved. And after feeling that sense of falling without a parachute, I pulled the string and went, “I can control this.”

I’m drinking a second cup of coffee as I write this. It’s 3:00 P.M. I’ve been awake since about 3:30 A.M. and I am going to dinner with a friend, which should be followed by a little bit of shopping. It’ll be fun. Her and I always have fun together. Nonetheless, I think I need some caffeine to make sure I’m not sleeping in the chair across from her during dinner.

My work had a special employee discount event start, so I bought some workout clothes in a size smaller. I’m actually fitting in to some of it already, so I really hope this stuff makes it to midsummer for me. If not, I guess I can always buy more. My wallet might not love it but my mirror likes the changes it’s seeing.

Anyway, this one is going to be super short because I have to go get myself ready for dinner, soon. We’re eating early because I’m part 87-year-old lady and like to have an early dinnertime.

Enjoy your day or night, wherever you are,

Kels

Leave a Reply

