Compassionate People and Having to Drink Enough Water to Pee More Than a Pregnant Lady

Yesterday, I had one of those work days where I could feel my faith in humanity sinking. It wasn’t even because of customers so much as the employees. The negativity is incredibly toxic there, and it is exhausting to be around it. I think I need to find a new work environment.

Let me elaborate. There was a woman who called in sick. Her dog had arthritis in her spine, and yesterday morning, they decided it was best to have the dog euthanized. This woman is rather notorious for calling in sick once every couple of weeks, but honestly, her reasons are usually pretty valid. Illnesses seem to constantly hit her family, and it’s not like the “cough, cough, totally faking it” kind.

For instance, she just had whooping cough, which I didn’t even fucking know adults could get. She actually messaged me and asked if she should go in. I told her she damn well better not because she wasn’t done with her contagious period, yet.

The idea of work ethic in this place is so fucked up. It’s like if you aren’t practically killing yourself for low wages, then you aren’t doing enough. Honestly, it makes me sick, because there is so much more to life than work.

Now that that story is out of the way, I would like to talk about compassion, today. When did people become so fucking jaded that compassion flew out the window? Yes, people will take advantage; yes, people will pull the wool over your eyes. However, that is not a valid reason to abandon your compassion, especially when people deserve it.

Honestly, I think this is how Trump became president. People in my country are abandoning compassion.

“How does this benefit me?”

We don’t take care of each other, anymore. “We’re all in this together” is abandoned as a fucking “hippie delusion” and replaced with the “look out for number one” way of life.

You can realize this and still be an optimist. For me… I don’t want to play that shit. There are enough assholes in the world. I don’t want to conform to that idea to get ahead.

*****

I’m now picking this up a few hours later. A friend and former coworker invited me to get coffee with her and another friend/current coworker. I gladly accepted because it was a perfect opportunity to get out more. Luckily, because like a typical basic American white girl, I love Starbucks and have their app… because I fucking left my wallet in my gym bag at home.

I did manage to find my mom a good Mother’s Day present… and put it on hold. I will just have to pick it up tomorrow after work, so that really isn’t a big deal.

Brad Paisley’s newest album is currently playing in the background. I love that he isn’t afraid to really tackle issues in his songs. For instance, he pretty bluntly lays into the U.S. for not actually taking care of its war vets once they’re done with their service. I know people think music shouldn’t be political, but I wholeheartedly disagree. It’s a great way to get a very different perspective… or even find some commonality with someone.

Sometimes, I think that is part of our problem. We run from disagreement. Disagreement doesn’t have to be scary if you actually focus on the issue. Of course, very few people do, and instead, they find a personal trait to call into question. Hence, nobody wants to debate, which is fully understandable. Imagine all the conversations we could have if we could stop attacking each other. I bet if we practiced compassion… we could figure this shit out.

Hey look! I brought it back to that compassion thing, again.

A coworker told me about this app where you put in your body metrics (well, your weight) and they give you a water goal. Yeah… mine is 134 oz (I think it was almost 4 liters)…. I’m at about 85 oz and I have to pee every 20 seconds. I know that will go away, and I really hope I lost enough weight that I can make that number go down, because holy shit, all this water!

Anyway, I am going to enjoy the rest of this beautiful Sunday.

Enjoy your day, wherever you are,

Kels

Leave a Reply

