Deprivation Is Asking for Trouble

Listen to Kehlani’s You Should Be Here today. Bright is a particularly inspiring song. I wish it had been around when I was a teenager. Of course, I had TLC to get me through my early teens, so I don’t think I was that deprived. TLC was amazing. If you have no idea who I’m talking about… fucking change that shit right now. They were like the ultimate 90’s R&B/Pop girl group.

Now I have Waterfalls stuck in my head. That song offers sage advice.

Higher leadership came to visit work today. So people were freaking the hell out because we can’t possibly let them see our world in disarray. Yet, as everyone was being crazy, I was calm. Shit will get done as it gets done, and getting pissy with one another is not the way to get it done. It’s amazing how easy it is not to participate in that shit once you realize it’s not worth the fucking effort to be so mad all the time. I wish more people saw that.

My ex-friend/former crush was getting in mild trouble for doing whatever the fuck he wants, which made me internally dance. I’m trying so hard not to be a petty person, but there is something so satisfying about someone who acts like he’s the greatest thing since sliced bread getting lightly berated for doing whatever he feels like instead of what he likely should be doing. He wasn’t getting in serious trouble, but at least they were getting on his case.

Schadenfreude. Leave it to the Germans to have a word that perfectly encompasses that feeling of pleasure derived from another’s pain. I wish we had a word in English that had that same connotation. We really don’t. For the record, the only other words I can say in German are “no” and “thank you,” so I guess I know the important ones, ha ha.

I have an obsession with blackened chicken alfredo. A few months ago, I found a frozen meal at the grocery store, and I’ve been eating it at least two or three times a month since. This is why I need the gym.

I’m not a big fan of the deprivation aspect of diets. I know calories in are supposed to be less than calories out when you are trying to lose weight, but I don’t want to say, “Ok, you can’t eat chocolate anymore because it’s too many calories.” To me, that deprivation aspect breeds overindulgence. It is so human to go, “I’m not supposed to do this, so I’m going to do it twice as often, because I like that sense of ‘danger.'”

Plus, once you fail… it fucking blows. Guilt causes me to give up, and I really don’t want to give up. So I don’t emphasize the failures, including the moments when I eat 400 calories in pasta for the hell of it. Some days, you need the indulgence, so indulge and don’t beat your ass over it.

For the record, it was probably more than 400 calories… It was still fucking worth every delicious calorie.

Also, this doesn’t mean that I am in the camp of constant indulgence. Self-control can still come into play. My idea is not to ban the chocolate; instead, keep yourself under control. Have a serving of chocolate; don’t eat the entire bag of chocolates in one sitting.

That’s what works for me. I had a box of Oreos in my bedroom, and I didn’t eat them all in one sitting. I can guarantee that it I thought I wasn’t allowed to have them, that entire package would’ve been gone in less than an hour. Don’t calculate the number of calories, by the way. It is just as abhorrent a number as you’d expect.

Be kind to yourself. There are enough assholes in this world, and you don’t need to add to it by being one to yourself.

Keep on the good side,

Kels

Leave a Reply

